Friday, July 23, 2010

Holdover Governors

We will now begin focusing intently on the very exciting 2010 Midterm Elections. The vast majority of states will be holding a contest for Governor this year, but before we look at them as part of the Race of the Day feature, let us make the perfunctory list of those that will be holdovers when 2011 begins. Keen political observers will note that two of the below Guvs are actually candidates for the U.S. Senate this year and are favored to win. However, they still need to be listed, as one cannot assume their Senate election success. If they do move on though, they will be replaced by a new Governor of the same party.

DE- Jack Markell (D)
IN- Mitch Daniels (R)
KY- Stephen Beshear (D)
LA- Bobby Jindal (R)
MS- Haley Barbour (R)
MO- Jay Nixon (D)
MT- Brian Schweitzer (D)
NJ- Chris Christie (R)
NC- Bev Perdue (D)
ND- John Hoeven (R)
VA- Bob McDonnell (R)
WA- Christine Gregoire (D)
WV- Joe Manchin (D)

Holdover Governors:

7 Democrats
6 Republicans